Middle Kingdom

Dynasty Eleven - Theban (O.C. 2134 - 1991)
Montuhotep I (Tepy-a)
Intef I (Sehertawy)
Intef II (Wahankh)
Intef III (Nakhtnebtepnefer)
Montuhotep II (Nebhetepre)
Montuhotep III (Sankhkare)
Montuhotep IV (Nebtawyre)

The Eleventh Dynasty pharaohs all ruled from Thebes, however, the first four kings are often placed within the First Intermediate Period and Montuhotep Nebhetepre (Montuhotep II) is described as the first pharaoh of the Middle Kingdom. Manetho states that the Eleventh Dynasty consisted of sixteen kings based in Thebes, who reigned for a total of forty-three years. However, this contrast with the Turin King List which names only seven kings ruling for a total of one hundred and forty-three years. It is generally accepted that the Turin list is more accurate, but that Manetho was right in asserting that they were based in Thebes.

The Dynasty begins either with Montuhotep I, (a nomarch from Thebes) or his son Intef Sehertawy (Intef I). Their successor Intef Wahankh (Intef II) asserted his position as the ruler of all of Egypt, bringing him into a confrontation with the rulers of the Tenth Dynasty (based in Herakleopolis Magna). Intef led a number of raids and successfully captured the nome of Abydos but did not manage to reunite the whole country. This job was left to Montuhotep Nebhetepra (Montuhotep II). When he defeated the Herakleopolitan princes, he began re-establishing Egyptian power over Africa and the Near East and reopened a number trade routes.

Little is known about the last pharaoh of the dynasty, Montuhotep Nebtawyra (Montuhotep IV). However, there is some evidence that his vizier, Amenemhat, engineered a coup d'etate and installed himself as Amenemhat I, the first king of the Twelfth Dynasty.

Dynasty Twelve (O.C. 1991 - 1782 B.C.)
Amenemhat I (Sehetibre)
Senusret I (Kheperkare)
Amenemhet II (Nubkare)
Senusret II (Khakheperre)
Senusret III (Khakhaure)
Amenemhet III (Nymaatre)
Amenemhet IV (Maakherure)
Queen Sobeknefru (Sobekkare)
copyright J Hill 2010
Return to Top
Ancient Egypt Online

Predynastic period Early Dynastic Old Kingdom First Intermediate Middle Kingdom Second Intermediate New Kingdom Third Intermediate Graeco-Roman period Late period